Skip directly to: Main page content

Center for Population Biology (CPB)

Photo: Alternate description of photo goes here

UC Davis Campus: Storer Hall. (Source: UCD Communications)

Helpful Links

 

About Davis
Arts and Entertainment
Calendars
Computer Resources
Financial Resources
Housing Opportunities
Library Resources (NEW)
News (Campus and Community)
SISWEB (Student Info System on the Web)
Student Handbooks
Student Services
Transportation Resources

* If there are other website links you would like to share, please let us know. We appreciate your suggestions: gradcoordinator@ucdavis.edu.

About Davis:
Davis Wiki: http://daviswiki.org/Front_Page (All things Davis!)
City of Davis: http://www.city.davis.ca.us/
UC Davis Visitor's Center: http://www.cevs.ucdavis.edu/dept/vs/
Google Maps: http://maps.google.com/
(Back to top)

Arts and Entertainment:
UC Davis Recreation Center: http://campusrecreation.ucdavis.edu/
UC Davis Aggie Family Pack: http://aggiefamilypack.ucdavis.edu/default.html
UC Davis Activities and Recreation Center (ARC): http://campusrecreation.ucdavis.edu/arc/
University of California Nature Reserves: http://nrs.ucdavis.edu/
Yolo County Visitors Bureau: http://www.yolocvb.org/
(Back to top)

Calendars:
Academic Calendar: http://registrar.ucdavis.edu/html/academic_calendar.html
Dissertation Filing Dates for AY09-10: http://www.gradstudies.ucdavis.edu/students/calendar.html
Event Calendars: http://www.ucdavis.edu/calendar/
(Back to top).

Computer Resources: Campus Computing Website

Financial Resources:
FAFSA = Free Application for Federal Student Aid: http://www.fafsa.ed.gov
Pay Dates for AY10-11 (PDF) NEW
Student Financial Aid: http://financialaid.ucdavis.edu/
Student Accounting: http://studentaccounting.ucdavis.edu/
Student Fees for AY 10-11: http://budget.ucdavis.edu/studentfees
Average Student Costs Annually (Domestic and International): http://registrar.ucdavis.edu/UCDWebCatalog/Fees/fees.html
Regulations for Graduate Students Receiving Fellowships 2010 -2011
(Back to top)

Housing Opportunities:
City of Davis Home Page:  http://www.city.davis.ca.us/
Davis Wiki:  http://daviswiki.org/Rental_Housing_Guide
Off Campus housing prices and things to know: http://admissions.ucdavis.edu/housing/off_campus.cfm
UCD Community Housing Listing:  http://chl.ucdavis.edu/
Davis Housing:  http://www.davishousing.com/
MyApartmentMap, LLC: www.myapartmentmap.com
Property management services and community apartments/cooperatives: http://www.housing.ucdavis.edu/housing/
Sabbatical Housing for rent (University Farm Circle):  http://www.universityfarmcircle.org/sabat.php
Craig's List for Sacramento (our students have had some good and some bad experiences with this)  http://sacramento.craigslist.org/
The California Aggie (a local publication): http://theaggie.org/
The Davis Enterprise (local Davis newspaper classifieds/rentals. http://www.davisenterprise.com/
The Sacramento Bee:  http://www.sacbee.com  and http://www.apartments.com

In your research, you may come across references to Aggie Village and the West Village - housing developments catering to the needs of UCD faculty and staff. Relatively new and not always available. Some sublet to students.
Aggie Village: http://crm.ucdavis.edu/realestate/managed-properties/aggie-village
West Village:  http://www.westvillage.ucdavis.edu/
(Back to top)

Library Resources
UC Davis Shields Library: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/
Science Grad Student Guide to the Library: http://www.lib.ucdavis.edu/ul/help/science-grad-student-guide.pdf

News (Campus and Community):
UC Davis Grad Link: http://www.gradstudies.ucdavis.edu/publications/gradlink/index.html
UC Davis Publications, News, and Broadcasts: http://ucomm.ucdavis.edu/what.html
California Aggie:http://theaggie.org/
Graduate Student Associate (GSA): http://gsa.ucdavis.edu/
The Sacramento Bee:  http://www.sacbee.com
Davis Enterprise: http://www.davisenterprise.com/
Woodland Daily Democrat: http://www.dailydemocrat.com/
(Back to top)

SISWEB: Student Information System on the Web

Student Handbooks:
The Platypus Guide: Our Program's Student Handbook (PDF)
Mentoring Guidelines: (PDF)
Graduate Student Guide from the Office of Graduate Studies Website (PDF)
Graduate Student Employment Handbook for Teaching Assistants and Associates In (PDF) (Last revised 12/2009)
New Student Guide from the Graduate Student Association (GSA)
(Back to top)

Student Services:
UC Davis "Current Student" Helpful Links Page: http://www.ucdavis.edu/current_students/
Office of Graduate Studies (OGS): http://gradstudies.ucdavis.edu/
Office of University Registrar (OUR): http://registrar.ucdavis.edu/
Cowell Student Health (GSHIP): http://healthcenter.ucdavis.edu/index.html
Student ID Cards (replacement and uses): http://registrar.ucdavis.edu/html/photoid.html
Services for International Students and Scholars: http://siss.ucdavis.edu/default.htm
(Back to top)

Transportation Resources (Local and Regional):
Amtrak Train Station: 840 Second Street, Davis
BART (Bay Area Rapid Transit): Station Locations and Map
Bike Barn at UC Davis: Rentals, purchase, and repair
Sacramento International Airport: Airport location code SMF
San Francisco International Airport: Airport location code SFO
STA Travel (online or at the campus MU): STA Travel Website
Unitrans Bus Service (ASUCD): Route Maps and Schedules
Yolo Bus County Transportation District: Service Schedules
(Back to top)