CPB Tuesday Seminar

Phantom Cliffs

CPB Tuesday Seminar Series:  WINTER QUARTER 2021

When:  Tuesdays, 4:10 - 5:30PM

Where:  Remote – Via Zoom – Instructions will be emailed each week to cpb@ucdavis.edu

PBG 290 – CRN 35662

Schedule as of January 14, 2021

Interested in presenting or have questions?  Please email smmann@ucdavis.edu.

 

January 5, 2021 – Silu Wang

Postdoc, Bachtrog Lab, UC Berkeley

Title:  Genomic contributors of speciation: insights from nascent species boundaries

Host:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu

 

January 12, 2021 – Samantha Worthy – CPB Postdoc Candidate

Graduate Student, University of Maryland

TitleIntegrating plant form, function, and demographic variation to understand emergent patterns of species distributions and community composition.

Hosts:  Jenny Gremer, jrgremer@ucdavis.edu; Susan Harrison, spharrison@ucdavis.edu; Andrew Latimer, amlatimer@ucdavis.edu

 

January 19, 2021 – April Martinig – CPB Postdoc Candidate

Graduate Student, University of Alberta

Title:  Not all risks lead to ruin: the long and short of dispersal

Hosts:  Marissa Baskett, mlbaskett@ucdavis.edu; Kate Laskowski, klaskowski@ucdavis.edu  

 

January 26, 2021 – Michael Yuan – CPB Postdoc Candidate

Graduate Student, UC Berkeley

Title:  Convergence and divergence from populations to species: phenotypic evolution of Caribbean Anolis Lizards

Hosts:  Rachael Bay, rbay@ucdavis.edu; Tom Schoener, twschoener@ucdavis.edu; Peter Wainwright, pcwainwright@ucdavis.edu  

 

February 2, 2021 – No Seminar - CPB Postdoc Search Faculty Meeting

Host:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu; Sharon Lawler, splawler@ucdavis.edu    

 

February 9, 2021 – Joanna Griffiths

Postdoc, Whitehead/Fangue Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Natural variation and evolutionary responses to climate change stressors in marine invertebrates

Host:  Andrew Whitehead, awhitehead@ucdavis.edu  

 

February 16, 2021 – Rachel Thayer

Postdoc, Begun Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Genetic basis and evolutionary context for structural color shift in the Buckeye butterfly

Hosts:  David Begun, djbegun@ucdavis.edu

 

February 23, 2021 – No Seminar - PBG Admissions Faculty Meeting

Hosts:  Brian Moore, brianmoore@ucdavis.edu; Santiago Ramirez, sanram@ucdavis.edu

 

March 2, 2021 – Marina Alberti

Professor, University of Washington

Title:  The Complexity of Urban Eco-Evolutionary Dynamics

Host:  Madison Armstrong, mlarmstrong@ucdavis.edu; Danielle De La Pascua, drdelapasqua@ucdavis.edu  

 

March 9, 2021 – Mitra Menon

Postdoc, Ross-Ibarra Lab, UC Davis

Title:  Gene expression profiling in a conifer hybrid zone reflects the influence of hybrid ancestry on adaptive trait evolution

Host:  Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra, rossibarra@ucdavis.edu

 

March 16, 2021 – Alison Gould

Research Scientist, California Academy of Sciences

Title:  Shedding light on symbiosis: lessons from a bioluminescent coral reef fish

Host:  Melissa Kardish, mrkardish@ucdavis.edu