CPB Tuesday Seminar

Phantom Cliffs

CPB Seminar Series:  WINTER QUARTER 2018

When: Tuesdays, 4:10 - 5:30PM
Where: 1022 Life Sciences Building (campus map)

PBG 290 – CRN 65604


Interested in presenting? Please contact gradcoordinator.

CPB Seminar Series Winter 2018


January 9, 2018 – J. Arvid Agren

Postdoctoral Scholar, Clark Lab, Cornell University

Title:  Causes and consequences of genomic conflicts

Hosts:  Nancy Chen, nanchen@ucdavis.edu


January 16, 2018 – Kathy Toll

Graduate Student, Willis Lab, Duke University

Title:  Mechanisms of habitat segregation between co-occurring monkeyflower species

Host:  Katie Ferris, kgferris@ucdavis.edu


January 23, 2018 – Catherine Rushworth

CPB Postdoctoral Fellow Search Candidate

Title:  The evolution of reproductive variation in natural populations

Hosts:  Jenny Gremer, jrgremer@ucdavis.edu, Dan Kliebenstein, kliebenstein@ucdavis.edu, Jeffrey Ross-Ibarra, rossibarra@ucdavis.edu


January 30, 2018 – Matthew Osmond

CPB Postdoctoral Fellow Search Candidate

Title:  Evolutionary rescue: integrating ecological and evolutionary theory

Hosts:  Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu, Andrew Whitehead, awhitehead@ucdavis.edu, Sebastian Schreiber, sschreiber@ucdavis.edu


February 6, 2018 – Michael Moore

CPB Postdoctoral Fellow Search Candidate

Title:  Midlife crises: Causes and consequences of fitness trade-offs across the life cycle

Hosts:  Gail Patricelli, gpatricelli@ucdavis.edu, Graham Coop, gmcoop@ucdavis.edu


February 13, 2018 – Sara Jackrel

CPB Postdoctoral Fellow Search Candidate

Title:   The role of intraspecific plant variation and bacterial metabolism in regulating carbon cycling

Hosts:  Sharon Lawler, splawler@ucdavis.edu, Valerie Eviner, veviner@ucdavis.edu, Jonathan Eisen, jaeisen@ucdavis.edu


February 20, 2018 – Tad Dallas

Postdoctoral Scholar, Hastings Lab, UC Davis

Title:  The influence of stochasticity on competition, coexistence, and spatial spread

Host:  Alan Hastings, amhastings@ucdavis.edu


February 27, 2018 – Thomas Jenkinson

NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, Rosenblum Lab, UC Berkeley

Title:  Cryptic diversity and secondary contact between amphibian-killing chytrid lineages

Host:  Katie Ferris, kgferris@ucdavis.edu


March 6, 2018 – Ellen Simms

Professor, Integrative Biology, UC Berkeley

Title:  Plant-soil feedbacks in native and invasive legumes

Host:  Katie Ferris, kgferris@ucdavis.edu


March 13, 2018 – Molly Womack

NSF Postdoctoral Fellow, Bell and Rosenblum Labs, Smithsonian and UC Berkeley

Title:  Lessons from ‘earless’ frogs on developmental bias and sensory ecology

Host:  Katie Ferris, kgferris@ucdavis.edu


March 20, 2018 – Elias Oziolor

Postdoctoral Scholar, Whitehead Lab, UC Davis

Title:   Evolutionary toxicology: Physiology and genomics of adapted Gulf killifish (Fundulus grandis) populations in response to a gradient of pollution

Host:  Andrew Whitehead, awhitehead@ucdavis.edu


March 27, 2018 – Michael Springborn

Associate Professor, Department of Environmental Science and Policy, UC Davis

Title:  Cost-effective management of an exotic species to achieve population viability goals for an endangered species in the Grand Canyon

Host:  Katie Ferris, kgferris@ucdavis.edu